Holy Wild


After reading Mark Buchanan’s book, Holy Wild, I saw God in a different light. He is holy and fearsome. The Hebrew children illustrated this by their reaction to Mt. Sinai. They refused to go near the mountain, because they saw God’s glory. And they were afraid.


My first reaction to this realization was a guilt trip. When was the last time I was afraid of God? I can’t remember a time. So am I being disrespectful to Him or showing irreverence?


Caedmon, my son, answered the question for me. The past couple of nights, we have enjoyed wrestling on the bed. (sorry, honey!). He will throw everything has at me and face an effortless defeat. Be it being body slammed, thrown across the room, or being smacked up side the head with a pillow. Basically, Caedmon is left at my mercy. In all reality, I could very easily snap his 4 year old arms and legs in half. Yet, he keeps coming back with more zest than you can shake a stick at. Why? Because all though his daddy is incredibly wild and unsafe, I am bound by my love and protection over my son.


In the same way, our God is so powerful and holy. We dare take a breath in His presence. Yet we keep coming back because of His in depth love and passion for us, His creation. 1 John 4:18 puts it this way:



There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves punishment, and the one who fears is not perfected in love.

7 thoughts on “

  1. Thanks… beautiful and powerful illustration. Your greatest responsibility is your greatest gift. Continue to be an image to Caedmon of OUR DADDY GOD!             om

Leave a Reply

