Disappointed Love


I rented rent the other night. (no pun intended). To be honest, I was disappointed. And it has nothing to do with the adaptation. In fact, I have never seen the actual broadway hit. To be honest, I am not that cultural savvy. Were it not for my wife, I wouldn’t have even known about it. Amanda fills me in on a weekly basis of all the things happening in the real world.


On to my disappointment. The movie starts out with a song about love. In fact, I can’t get it (525,600 minutes) out of my head. But ironically, its not about love. At least not love in the Biblical sense. Rather, the movie teaches:




    1. It is ok for a transvesdite (sp?) and another man to be together. Especially when the Transvesdite inspires you.

    2. Lesbianism is a great option for bisexuals. As long as you learn to accept people for who they are.

    3. And love is tolerable of the stripper lifestyle.

    4. We are all in this together and everything is rent.

Well, I agree with the last statement. Everything is rent. Everything is something you have to pay for and more often than not, we don’t have the funds to cover it. But, the conception of love is sorely misunderstood.


Love is not tolerable. Love is not mere acceptance. Love changes people. It is patient and kind, but it changes you. I am not going to rant and rave about the homosexual lifestyle. That’s not the point. The point is that just because we love someone (be they gay, murderers, strippers, prostitutes, druggies, corrupt leaders, etc) does not mean we dismiss any wrong doings they are still actively doing. No, we love them to bring them out of their sinful lifestyle.


I don’t know. Its hard for me to put down into words what I am feeling. I don’t want it to come out like I hate all these people. Far be it from me, with a great multitude of sins on my list, from hating other sinners. But the message I got from the movie is counter any thing God has taught me about love.

2 thoughts on “

  1. I watched that this weekend too. I like it. Found 525,600 Minutes a bit annoying, actually. And loved the sense of community these ppl had going. I’m working on a post that’s roughly influence by the movie but it’s still in my head. Provided it doesn’t get lost up there then you’ll see it on Xanga someday.

  2. I had wanted to rent it as well but then one of my friends had seen it and was telling me about it.  I was more than disappointed.  I understand exactly what your talking about and completely agree!  I miss seeing you and getting to visit!  I can’t believe you’re going to be a dad x2.  🙂 

Leave a Reply

