Addiction Loss

This week I have been teaching my 5 year old son, Caedmon, about meditation. It is one of the disciplines I never heard anything about before reading Foster’s Celebration of Discipline. The way I approached teaching him was by giving Caedmon three index cards with Ephesians 6:1 written on the font side. (roughly translated in kevinese to mean “Children obey your parents. This is the right thing to do.”) On the back side, I had him write out the word OBEY. Afterwards, we put the verses up in front of his bathroom sink, on his bedside table, and on a back seat speaker, so that anywhere he went, he would be prompted to think about the verses.

I did the same for myself. However, my verse was from Philippians 3:10, where Paul penned these words:

I gave up all that inferior stuff so I could know Christ personally, experience his resurrection power, be a partner in his suffering, and go all the way with him to death itself.

I flipped it over and wrote the word DISCIPLESHIP on the back side. After reading the verse, I was convicted of an addiction I have for over 17 years…video games. You know, the inferior stuff! God said that it controlled my life and was holding me back from what He wanted me to accomplish, that instead of making a profit on the talents, I continue to bury mine. And I was heart broken almost to the point of tears. I thoroughly enjoy my video games. Granted, God said I could still play the insignificant ones like Mario Party with Caedmon from time to time. Or even the cheesy flash ones on the internet. But that’s not the point. The real point is that I would spend hours playing my games (Oblivion, Morrowind, NeverWinter Nights), as it was a form of escapism from a busy day. In doing so, I would neglect my prayer life and walk with Him.

As of October 17, 2006, I have laid to rest that addiction. And let me tell you something, IT FEELS GREAT. God is just showing me stuff, left and right. I feel alive again and there is a burning, deep within my chest.

So, what’s holding you back? Confront your addiction(s) for the sake of King. Give up the inferior stuff for intimacy with Christ.

2 thoughts on “Addiction Loss

  1. Random comment: I think you SHOULD wear a tiarra on your birthday! Didn’t that face on Nicki remind you of the year we all did Ms Wayland and the theme was Mission Impossible? Ok, so maybe you don’t remember it, but ask Amanda, she would!

Leave a Reply

