Jesus Reader

I don’t know why it has take almost 30 years for me to figure this out. However, I am glad I did. Recently, I started reading the scriptures TO Jesus.  I started replacing names and references to Jesus with “you” as I read it out loud to Him.  Instead of reading this:

For God so loved the world that He gave his only begotten son

I read it to Christ like this:

For Father loved us so much that he gave us you

It has had a radical impact on my understanding of the scriptures. Jesus no longer takes a passive role as one of the characters in the story. Rather my understanding of his realness, his immediacy is heightened as we converse over this amazing literature.

Leave a Reply

