Remaining in Christ

I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing. (‭John‬ ‭15‬:‭5‬ ESV)

When have I felt like I was remaining in Christ? What can I learn from those experiences?

The closest I ever felt to Christ was during my childhood. I think that was largely due to the fact that leaning on someone else was essential to surviving. Dependency on Him sheltered me from the chaos of alcoholism and drug abuse that engulfed my family.

What I learned from those experiences is that there is an immense peace in remaining him, but it requires integrity and diligence. As a child, those were easy because I had no other choice: it was Christ or lose my mind. However, as my roles in life changed, my focus shifted and I willfully chose the more tangible things in life. It was easier to do the dishes, take a shower and go to bed than it was to stay up late and spend the last few minutes of my day with Him. Being paid for the work I do has allowed my heart to rely on the paychecks to cover the bills then the necessity of gratitude to my provider.

What does it look like for you to remain in Christ through out the day? What about the times when it is most difficult?

At the very basic level, this writing is what it looks like to remain in Him. I am taking a break from work to think about and reflect on the things that Christ is teaching me every day. That’s not easy, especially if you are task oriented like I am and journaling is preventing me from getting to that list.

However, I am thankful that I have access to the Scriptures and ultimately to the ear of God through Christ. It has been difficult to pull away because I have believed the lie that my physical needs are more important my spiritual. As I spend more time remaining in Christ, those priorities will naturally change.

Leave a Reply

