Feel Like God’s Not Around? Take a Shower.

It is safe to say that he’s attached.  The 4 year old I mean. It all came together for me while I was taking a shower the other night. Through the curtain, I could hear the rhythmic tapping of a door hitting the frame. I poked my head out to discover Hendrix laying on his back lightly kicking the door against its frame.

Me: “Hey bud, what are you doing?”

Hendrix: “Oh, hey dad…nothing.”

Me:  “Why are you in here?”

Hendrix: “I just want to be in here with you.”

I shut the curtain and smiled. He follows me everywhere. When I lay down for a lazy Saturday afternoon nap, I wake up to find him on the pillow next to me (and my bed covered in stuffed animals “to protect me”). If I am in the kitchen doing chores, he’s at the table with his iPad. If I am reading in my chair, he’s on the living room floor acting out something from his imagination. And every time we sit down to eat, the chair next to me is automatically reserved for Hendrix.

All this time, the little one has been teaching me a lesson about the presence of God. Even when I wasn’t fully interacting with Hendrix, he just enjoyed being in the presence of his father. Think about how that would impact the quality of our lives if we recognized God’s presence in the same manner.

David acknowlged this in Psalm 139:

Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence? If I ascend to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there! If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me. If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light about me be night,” even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day, for darkness is as light with you. (‭Psalm‬ ‭139‬:‭7-12‬ ESV)

A fancy, theological term for this omnipresence. We can not escape his presence and the ramifications of that thought are extraordinary:

  • We are never alone. In the darkest nights, he’s there.
  • The one who loves more than anyone else is always accessible. Remember falling in love and couldn’t wait to see them again. Flip that around and God’s always there.
  • You don’t have to work all the time. You can rest in His presence without feeling guilty.  Sometimes church culture pushes us to the point that our actions become our idols. Going to church becomes more important than the reason we go, etc.
  • The ultimate mentor is within reach. You have access to the best advice and someone who is always ready to listen at your fingertips.

I just hope I am able to find as much joy in God’s presence as Hendrix finds in mine.  What about you?

Leave a Reply

